Sustainable development – the leading topic of 12th FilmAT Festival

and 10th International Tourfilm Academy Conference


November, 9th 2017 we had great pleasure to host at the solemn gala of 12th FilmAT Festival Mr. Ulvi Bakhshaliyev - Deputy Ambassador of the Republic of Azerbaijan, Mrs. Lariana Dias - official representative of the Embassy of the Republic of Panama, Mr. Pedro Machado – President of Turismo Centro Portugal, Mr. Alexander V. Kammel – director and creator of International Committee of Tourism Film Festivals CIFFT,  Mrs. Bożena Kamińska – Member of Parliament, Mr. Janusz Chwierut – president of Oświęcim, Mr. Krzysztof Chojniak – President of Piotrków Trybunalski, Mr. Piotr Niedźwiecki – President of Zduńska Wola, Mr. Stanisław Filipiak – Mayor of Buk and Mr. Andrzej Strzechmiński –  Mayor of Łeba.


During Gala accompanied by the exhibition organized by the Embassy of Panama and a solemn dinner great winners of this year competition were awarded with statuettes and diplomas.


Since twelve years the tradition of FilmAT Festival is to award special Tourist Statuettes to the people and institutions who pay a biggest contribution in the Worldwide promotion of Poland. In past years amond others were awarded: Krzysztof Zanussi, Andrzej Wajda, Roman Polański, Alexander V. Kammel, Rafał Blechacz, Film School in Łódż, Se-ma-for Film Studio or „Mazowsze” Folk Ensemble. W tym roku zostały przyznane następujące statuetki Turysty:


„Tourist 2017”
for Paweł Królikowski
for Promotion of his Home town Zduńska Wola



„Tourist 2017”

in the year of  Sustainable Tourism for Development

for Paweł Kamiński

for Professional contribution in protection of World’s cultural heritage



International competition was partnered by Warsaw School of Economics, the oldest and most prestigious polish economic university. Jury of international competition leaded by Zbigniew Żmudzki (producer of Oscar-winning film „Peter an a Wolf”) decided to not award any film with GRAND PRIX TOURISM. 


International jury decided to award with GRAND PRIX ECOLOGY Serbian film “In the name of life 1999” by Boško & Emilia Savković /Alternativa/


Jury of national competition leader by film producer Kuba Sito jury decided to award three films with the Grand Prix:



for the Festival’s Best Polish film:

Baczyński is doing well

Zespół Szkół nr 4 we Włocławku

im. Krzysztofa Kamila Baczyńskiego



„Marshes are good”

by Tomasz & Michał Ogrodowczyk

/State Forests/



   „Flow of life”

    by Tomasz Kotaś

and Krzysztof Sarapata



"Tourist Owl", prestigious statuette awarded since eight years by jury of International Tourfilm Academy within the frames of FilmAT – International Festival of Tourist, Ecology and Artistic Films. This year is very special. UNWTO (United Nations Tourist Organization) announced 2017 a Year of Sustainable Tourism for Development. It was a leading topic of 12th FilmAT Festival and International Tourfilm Academy Conference. “Tourist Owl” statuettes were awarded to a productions which rise an issue of sustainable development:


Tourist Owl
Polskie Sieci Elektroenergetyczne S.A.
for Sustainable Development Report PSE 2016

 Tourist Owl
ZDM Puławy
for an illustration of the "Natural Inventory the Puławy Municipality”


Tourist Owl


the City of Buk

for “The Buk Tryptych” Filmat-OWL-www-page-005


10th International Tourfilm Academy Conference which traditionally accompanied the Festival, this year was organized with the collaboration with Warsaw School of Economics. It was also partnered by Polskie Sieci Elektroenergetyczne S.A., National Fryderyk Chopin Institute, International Committee of Tourism Film Festivals CIFFT, United Nations World Tourism Organization – UNWTO, CzechTourism, Turismo Centro Portugal, Ministry of Culture and Tourism of the Republic of Azerbaijan and the Embassy of the Republic of Panama.



Conference was opened by professor Ewa Dziedzic – head of Tourism Department of Warsaw School of Economics (SGH) and Alexander V. Kammel – president of International Tourfilm Academy. Speakers of the conference discussed different topics concerning promotion by film of all five pillars of sustainable development.


5 pillars of Sustainable Development are:

- Economic, fielding inclusive growth,

- Social, bringing decent jobs and empowering communities,

- Environmental, preservation and enriching the environment and addressing climate change,

- Cultural celebrating and preserving diversity, identity, and tangible and intangible culture,

- and Peace, as an essential prerequisite for development and progress.


An idea of sustainable development is well summarized in the first phrase of Brundtland report from 1987 – “Our Common Future”


Sustainable development is development that meets the needs of the present without

compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.


Symbol of Conference, as a sign of relations between generations, was a reflection of baroque Ostrogski Palace (Chopin Museum) in the modern glass façade of National Chopin Institute.


FilmAT Festival is a member of international organization – CIFFT – International Committee of Tourism Film Festivals, created and directed by Mr. Alexander V. Kammel. The Committee works under the patronage of UNWTO - United Nations World Tourism Organization. Since over 25 years CIFFT is the only Worldwide organization which every year selects the best World’s tourism film. This choice is based on decision of 17 jury commissions representing festivals members of CIFFT.